Honda Vietnam sent a team of motoring journalists to compete in Round 2 of the 2007 Honda Media Challenge, held last November 24, at the FTI Complex in Taguig City. Led by Honda Vietnam president Koji Onishi and senior marketing manager Kotaro Shimizu, the Vietnamese motoring journalists - Nguyen Xuan Thu, Dao Trong Anh, and Le Tran Quynh, had their first taste of motorsports competition, and posted a respectable time of 04:08.14 to finish ninth in a field of 14 teams.

The Honda 1 team of Junichi Sato, Takashi Ishida and Arnel Doria registered the best team time of the day at 03:14.65. However, as a sponsor team, they did not qualify for the team competition, thus allowing the Top Gear team to continue their winning streak. Beeboy Bargas, Paulo Subido and Carmela Ortiz once again copped the top spot with their combined time of 03:27.29.

Team Autoindustriya logged a time of 03:34.78 to take second place, courtesy of drivers Brent Co, Rick Wee and Vic Rosales. Finishing third in the team category was the Business Mirror team of Andy Sevilla, Randy Cabangon and Dino Datu, with a time of 03:37.68.

Other media teams competing for the team championship are Auto Review (03:39.69), Motoring Today (03:42.49), DZRH (03:49.00), AM Radio (05:22.08), FM Radio (05:43.77), Gadgets (05:50.48), Manila Standard Today (05:53.99), and BusinessWorld (06:42.72).

In the motoring category, Manny de los Reyes (Speed/The Philippine Star)dominated the field with a best time of 01:02.59. Close behind were Top Gear's Paulo Subido (01:03.90) and Beeboy Bargas (01:04.49) in second and third place, respectively. Rounding out the top 10 list in the motoring category are Ferman Lao, 01:05.99 (Kotse.Com); Matt Mallari, 01:06.28 (Motoring Today); Rick Wee, 01:10.39 (Autoindustriya); Ronald de los Reyes, 01:10.39 (Auto Review); Inigo Roces, 01:11.10 (Manila Bulletin); Vic Rosales, 01.11.69 (Autoindustriya); and Alvin Ng, 01:13.00 (Auto Review).

In the Honda Club competition, Onyl Malabanan repeated his first round win by once again finishing with the best time of 01:11.73. Other competitors were Emong Ang (01:25.31), Logan Oliva (01:25.52), and Bibbo Jimenez (01:27.11).

Six Honda Jazz VTEC 1500 manual transmission units have been equipped with roll cage, racing seat and five-point harness for use as official competition vehicles. The vehicles are fitted with Yokohama Tires, while the batteries are courtesy of Motolite "Trusted na pangmatagalan."

The official fuel for the 2007 season is the new Petron XCS Complete Combustion System, a special formulation customized for Philippine driving conditions. The first gasoline powered by premium organic enhancers, Petron XCS delivers smoother acceleration and optimized power by keeping your engine clean and maximizing fuel consumption.

A special sponsors night was held at the Airport Casino Filipino last November 20, courtesy of venue sponsor Pagcor Sports.

Other sponsors include Honda Philippines, Inc. for the generator sets, JVC Mobile Entertainment Systems for the large-screen timer display, Art & Image Technology for the car stickers, and IgerTech for the timing device and scoring system.

The final round of the 2007 Honda Media Challenge is scheduled for December 08, at the FTI Complex in Taguig.

The Honda Media Challenge is a club event sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) and is organized by ADBM Resources. For more information about the event, call 9206944 or visit