The World Rally Championship will adopt a new points-scoring system next season, motorsport's governing body, the International Automobile Federation (FIA), said.

The FIA's World Council met recently in Monte Carlo announced that drivers finishing in the top eight positions will now score points from 2003 onwards, rather than the six competitors earning points previously.

The same change was made to Formula One in October.

The second place finisher will now score eight points having previously earned six, with third place earning six points and each driver a point less down to eighth.

Finnish driver Marcus Gronholm scored 77 points this year and secured the world title for Peugeot with an advantage of 40 points.