Racing News

Yoshida maintains top spot at the second leg of the 2013 Winds Formula Philippines


A total of seven drivers participated in the 2nd leg of the 2013 Winds Formula Philippines Series on June 1~2, 2013 at Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC). The 2nd leg was held together with the Philippine GT Championship, the Classic Mini Racing Series, and the VW Kafer Cup.

Apart from Sung Joon Park and Jeremy San Diego, other participants were Philippine Rok 125cc Karting Champion Roby Benito, as well as veteran Japanese drivers Takumi Kuroiwa, 2012 Super-FJ Tsukuba Series 1st Runner-up  Teriyuki Yoshida, Formula Junior 1600 pilot Yousuke Yabushita, and Super FJ pilot Gen Yamaguchi.

During qualifying top two drivers Takumi Kuroiwa and Teruki Yoshida set the fastest time as Yoshida set a new course record of 1:45.275 while Kuroiwa followed soon after. Sung Joon Park's consistent driving managed to get him the third spot on the grid. While Filipino driver Jeremy San Diego qualified sixth after an electrical problem forced him to pit.

On the race proper, Rafael Benito made a fantastic start launching into first position with Takumi Kuroiwa right on his tail. Sung Joon Park meanwhile steered away from polesitter Teruki Yoshida as he suffered from a mis-shift bringing him down to fourth place.

Benito's lead was short lived as he was forced to retire by the third corner of the first lap that was caused by a gearbox problem. Park and Yoshida maintained second and third place as San Diego followed closely and eventually took Yabushita's place as the latter made a mistake and spun out.

Veteran Yoshida kept the pressure on Park which eventually made him spin out on the first corner on the race's third lap costing him to fall back two places behind Yamaguchi and San Diego. Yoshida took first place soon after with Kuroiwa behind him. Park meanwhile recovered from the incident and managed to regain the third spot all throughout the race. Sand Diego, Yamaguchi, and Yabushita finished the race in fourth, fifth, and sixth place respectively.

Follow the Winds Formula Philippines series as it hold its third leg at the Clark International Speedway this August 10 and 11, 2013.

Read more

Recent Articles