Public transportation safety has just taken a major step forward with the move by the senate to unanimously approve Senate Bill Number 2999.

Known as the Road Speed Limiter Act of 2015, it was filed in early November last year and received a 19-0 vote on its third and final reading.

The bill mandates that all public utility buses (PUBs) will have speed limiters prior to registration with the Land Transportation Office (LTO) and the processing of the franchise by the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB).

Maximum speed will be limited to 60 kilometers per hour on EDSA and 80 kilometers per hour on expressways like the South Luzon Expressway (SLEX), North Luzon Expressway (NLEX), Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTEX) and others.

Operators who fail to comply with the installation of the speed limiters will be fined Php 100,000 and will have their franchise suspended until full compliance is attained.

The operator and driver will also be held liable and will receive fines of Php 50,000 separately.

Full list of the penalties and the transcript of the bill can be found here.

Bill sponsor Senator Joseph Victor Ejercito believes that the installation of these speed limiters will lessen accidents and fatalities on the roads caused by PUBs.

“There will be an accreditation to ensure that every speed limiter installed in buses are acceptable to international standards and that precise specifications are met,” said Ejercito.