The Macau GT cup, now in its fifth year and it is fast becoming as one of the must-see races in the Macau Grand Prix. It features some of the best Grand Touring cars as well as some of the world's best drivers.

The undisputed 'King of Macau' Edoardo Mortara once again proved to be a force to be reckoned with after winning his second Macau GT cup title in his Audi R8 LMS. He previously won the Macau Formula 3 Grand Prix in 2009 and 2010.  Mortara is the current lap record holder for both Formula 3 and GT cup cars. His successful dominance on the 6.2 km Guia street circuit propelled earned him the title 'King of Macau' being one of the best drivers of the notorious circuit.

This year however was not a complete walk in the park for the French-Italian Mortara. Starting from pole position with a blistering lap time of 2.20.617, Mortara lost his lead to Lucas Di Grassi in the Auto Italia/AF Corse Ferrari 458 GT3 as the cars thundered off the grid. In an intense battle with Di Grassi, Mortara regained the lead on lap 4 at the notorious Lisboa Bend. However in lap 6, Shim Ching crashed his Porsche 997 Cup 3.8 hard into the wall bringing out the safety car to bring things back in order.

Mortara stormed to the flag with his Audi R8 LMS as the safety car left on lap 10 with Di Grassi giving a good chase on his Ferrari. The 'King of Macau' would prove to be unbeatable as he wins his second straight Macau GT title. While Di Grassi crossed the line in second, he would later be handed a 60-second penalty for a jump start. This promoted Alexandre Imperatori in the Team StarChase Porsche GT3R to second, while Briton Danny Watts was upgraded to third in the United Motorsports McLaren MP4-12C GT3. Japanese driver Akira Iida took fourth in the Team Buddyclub McLaren MP4-12C GT3 ahead of Frenchman Romain Dumas in the Spark Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3R.