After eight grueling hours of racing around the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga, the TRS-Formula V1 team has emerged as the overall champion of the '8 Oras ng Pilipinas' 2017 Philippine Endurance Challenge (PEC). Five drivers took to the wheel of the Tuason Racing School-prepared race car, and completed a total of 191 laps during the entirety of the race.

Five racers took turns driving the TRS-Formula V1. The veterans comprised of Mike Tuason, Bjorn Ongtiaobok, Louis Ramirez and Ferdie Ong. Their fifth driver, the youngest of the bunch, was Luis Gono.

During the race, the team started in second on the grid after qualifying in P2. They had a strong start and managed to take the lead with Gono behind the wheel. However, they were given a drive through penalty after a mistake was made during the first fuel and driver change. Furthermore, the team also had to deal with multiple pit stops due to the limited fuel capacity of the race car. During the final 12 minutes, the team manged to push and finish 1st overall with a best lap time of 2:15.642.

“It was the 1st race event for our Formula V1 car which was both reliable and quick from the start. We look forward to more race wins in the formula V1 in 2018.” said JP Tuason, Team Principal.

The team credits Gono as being the VIP driver of the race, which secured them the win. He managed to increase the pace during the last 15-minutes, allowing them to finishing 1:14.505 ahead of the second placer.