We have some good news for vehicle owners and driver’s license holders in Metro Manila.

For those with vehicle registrations and driver’s licenses that have expired over the course of the ECQ (Enhanced Community Quarantine) or MECQ (Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine), you have until July 31, 2020, to renew them.

With Metro Manila transitioning to GCQ (General Community Quarantine) on June 1, the LTO (Land Transportation Office) will start to reopen offices around the NCR to accept license applications, renewals, and registrations.

According to the previous guidelines issued by the LTO released on May 11, “the validity of renewal registration of motor vehicles which expired on 01 March 2020 and until the date of work resumption shall be automatically extended for sixty (60) calendar days from such work resumption”. The guidelines also show when owners should go to LTO Offices for registration, which you may check here.

As a result, everyone with vehicle registrations that expired between from March 1 to May 31 will be technically extended by 60 days; until July 31, 2020. The same goes for driver’s licenses. No penalty fees will be charged during renewal as well. So expect to pay the same as you would for a normal license or registration renewal.

If you plan on having your expired driver’s license or vehicle registration renewed once Metro Manila transitions to GCQ, better make an online appointment first. The LTO offices in the NCR only will be accepting walk-ins only by June 8, 2020.

If you don’t make an online appointment, expect to be lining up for quite a long time. Metro Manila residents with expired licenses and registrations will likely be flocking to LTO offices to renew as soon as possible. Don’t forget, LTO offices will still have to comply with minimum public health standards including mandatory face masks and social distancing.

As a final note, do remember that the July 31 deadline is only for NCR and other regions that will shift to GCQ on June 1 based on the 60-day extension. Regions that have already reopened/shifted to GCQ last May 16 means their renewal deadline is on July 15.

According to LTO ED Romeo Vera Cruz this does not include Cebu City just yet. The LTO will issue a separate advisory when LTO offices in Cebu City will open for limited transactions.